If you or a loved one were injured in a collision caused by a negligent driver, you must take the opportunity to file a claim against this person before the statute of limitations passes you by. This will ensure that you receive the monetary compensation that you deserve for your injuries.
The Statute of Limitations in Nevada
The statute of limitations is the time that you have to file a lawsuit against the negligent party. If you were injured in a car accident, this is considered to be a personal injury claim in Nevada. The statute of limitations for personal injury claims is two years, so you have two years to file your claim against the negligent driver.
If you are going to file a lawsuit against the negligent driver, you must do it within the confines of the statute of limitations. The statute of limitations begins the day that your accident takes place and lasts for two years. If you will be filing a wrongful death lawsuit, the statute of limitations will begin on the date of the victim’s death.
If you lost property in the car accident, you have three years to file a claim against the at-fault driver.
What Happens When You Exceed the Statute of Limitations?
If you file a claim after the statute of limitations has already passed, you will not be able to make the negligent party pay for his or her negligence. If you file the claim anyway, the at-fault party will have the right to petition the court to dismiss your claim, and in most cases, the court will dismiss the claim.
The reason that you must make sure that you file every motion before the statute of limitations has passed is because it is very likely that the judge will dismiss any claims that are filed after the statute of limitations has passed. The claim can be for a loved one’s wrongful death, your personal injuries or your damaged property, so you will need to hire personal injury lawyers in Las Vegas so that you can be assured that the statute of limitations will not pass without filing a claim.
Car Accidents that Involve Minors
If the person injured in the car collision was a minor, he is going to have to wait until he turns 18 years old to file a claim against the at-fault driver. Once the victim reaches his 18th birthday, the statute of limitations will begin. He will have two years to file his claim against the at-fault driver. If you are the parent of a victim under the age of 18, you may ask the court for permission to file a claim on your child’s behalf.
The court may allow you to file a claim against the at-fault party. If this is the case, your child will not be able to file a lawsuit for his injuries after he turns 18 years old.
It’s highly important that you call a Las Vegas auto accident attorney if you were injured or a loved one died in a car accident. At Dobberstein Law Group, we will ensure that you have a Las Vegas personal injury attorney on your case right away so that he or she can begin investigating it. Your Las Vegas accident lawyer will follow all the rules and regulations of your personal injury case so that we can ensure that you receive the outcome that you are hoping to receive. Our attorneys at our North Las Vegas personal injury law firm work on a contingency basis. You will never see a bill until we obtain a settlement in your case. Contact us at our personal injury North Las Vegas law firm today.